Back

TexturePrint

Share: 

In 1913 the British Linen Thread Company builds the largest flax storehouse in Kortrijk on Noordstraat. One hundred years later the site houses Texture, the brand-new museum that tells the fascinating story of the regional flax and linen industry. Make sure you do not miss the masterpieces in the Treasure Room: a real pleasure to the eye.
In 1913 the British Linen Thread Company builds the largest and most modern flax storehouse in the city. It has two floors, each divided into rooms with fireproof doors. The Linen Thread Company arranges group purchases for spinning mills in the United Kingdom and is therefore able to get significantly cheaper flax prices. Obviously, this is not to the liking of the local flax manufacturers – they call it 'the English syndicate'.
The building is used as a flax storehouse until shortly after the Second World War. It is subsequently used by a variety of companies for over fifty years.
It has been home to the Texture flax museum since 2014. The Wonder Room on the ground floor introduces you to the numerous forms of flax. The Lys Room on the first floor tells you all about the history of the regional linen and flax industry. To conclude, the Treasure Room on the newly built top floor presents you with a number of unique masterpieces from the museum’s textile collection. An absolute must for anyone interested in fashion or in the region's industrial history.
Afterwards you can reflect on your visit in Kaffee Damast, the museum’s café.

Indoor
Museum
Drinking occasion
Educational programs
Group tours
Dining
Shop
Accesible disabled persons
Cloakroom
Wifi
Texture
Noordstraat 28
8500  Kortrijk
Belgium
Email: 
texture@kortrijk.be
Phone: 
+32 56 27 74 70
Cellphone:

Retour

TexturePrint

Share: 

En 1913, la société britannique Linen Thread Company construit sur la Noordstraat le plus grand entrepôt de lin de Courtrai. Cent ans plus tard, vous pouvez y visiter Texture, le tout nouveau musée racontant l’histoire passionnante de l’industrie linière dans la région. Ne manquez surtout pas les pièces maîtresses de la Schatkamer : une véritable caresse pour les yeux.
En 1913, l’entreprise britannique Linen Thread Company érige le plus grand et le plus moderne entrepôt de lin de la ville. Il compte deux étages dont les salles sont séparées par des portes coupe-feu. Linen Thread Company organise des achats groupés pour les filatures au Royaume-Uni et peut ainsi comprimer fortement le prix du lin. Cela n’est évidemment pas au goût des liniculteurs locaux, qui la surnomment le « syndicat anglais ».
Le bâtiment sert d’entrepôt de lin jusqu’à peu de temps après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ensuite, il est utilisé par différentes entreprises pendant plus de cinquante ans.
Depuis 2014, le musée du lin Texture y est établi. La Wonderkamer, au rez-de chaussée, montre les différentes formes sous lesquelles se présente le lin. Un étage plus haut, la Leiekamer raconte l’histoire de l’industrie linière dans la région. Enfin, la Schatkamer, au dernier étage récemment construit, présente des pièces maîtresses uniques, issues de la collection de textiles du musée. À voir absolument pour quiconque est intéressé par la mode ou le passé industriel de la région.
Pour discuter de ce que vous avez vu après la visite, vous pouvez vous rendre au café du musée, le Kaffee Damast.

A l'intérieur
Musée
Occasion de boire
Programme éducatif
Visite en groupe
Restaurants
Boutique
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite
Vestiaire
Wifi
Texture
Noordstraat 28
8500  Kortrijk
Belgique
Email: 
texture@kortrijk.be
Télephone: 
+32 56 27 74 70
Mobile: