Back

MIATPrint

Share: 

The Museum about Industry, Labour and Textile (MIAT) houses a collection of industrial heritage with international appeal. Covering 1,800 square metres of exhibition space, the museum recounts the story of our industrial past and demonstrates how industrialisation continues to impact our lives. Do not miss the still functioning, and deafening, old textile machines.

At the end of the 18th century, Ghent was the first city on the Continent where the industrial revolution took root. It would continue to be an important centre of industry for over 150 years, especially in terms of textile production.

In the course of the 1970s, the decay of the classical industries caused the loss of a lot of heritage. The city of Ghent itself took the initiative of preserving important machines and objects, this way laying the foundation for the MIAT museum.

In 1991, the museum was moved to the former Desmet-Guequier cotton mill, a company founded in 1830 which, as so many textile factories, closed down in the 1970s.

One of the museum’s showpieces is a spinning mule: a machine which was invented in England in 1779 and made it possible to spin yarn on an industrial scale. In the year 1800, Ghent-born Lieven Bauwens was able to smuggle a spinning mule into the Continent from Great Britain, thus paving the way for his city’s industrial development.

The MIAT is an easily accessible museum. Schools, particularly vocational and technical schools, families and multi-cultural groups are given extra attention.

Indoor
Museum
Drinking occasion
Educational programs
Group tours
Parking
Dining
Shop
Accesible disabled persons
Museum voor Industrïele archeologie en textiel (MIAT)
Minnemeers 9
9000  Gent
Belgium
Email: 
museum.miat@gent.be
Phone: 
+32 92 69 42 00
Cellphone:

Retour

MIATPrint

Share: 

Le musée de l’industrie, du travail et du textile possède une collection de patrimoine industriel de niveau international. Sur plus de 1800 mètres carrés d’espace d’exposition, il raconte l’histoire de notre passé industriel et de l’influence que cette industrialisation exerce toujours sur notre vie. Ne manquez pas les anciennes machines textiles, toujours fonctionnelles et assourdissantes.

À la fin du 18ème siècle, Gand est la première ville du continent où s’implante la révolution industrielle. Pendant plus de 150 ans, elle reste un centre industriel important, surtout pour la production textile.

Au cours des années 1970, lors du déclin des industries classiques, une grande partie du patrimoine industriel est perdu. La ville de Gand décide de conserver elle-même des machines et objets importants, posant ainsi les bases du MIAT.

En 1991, le MIAT s’installe dans l’ancienne filature de coton Desmet-Guequier, une entreprise qui remonte à 1830 et qui, comme de nombreuses usines textiles, a fermé ses portes dans les années 1970.

L’une des pièces maîtresses du musée est une mule-jenny : une machine inventée en 1779 en Angleterre permettant de filer du fil à l’échelle industrielle. En 1800, le Gantois Lieven Bauwens parvient à faire passer dans le continent, sous le manteau, une mule-jenny de Grande-Bretagne, et pose ainsi les bases du développement industriel de sa ville.

Le MIAT est un musée qui se veut accessible. Il accorde une attention particulière aux écoles, surtout de l’enseignement professionnel et technique, aux familles, et aux groupes multiculturels.

A l'intérieur
Musée
Occasion de boire
Programme éducatif
Visite en groupe
Parking
Restaurants
Boutique
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite
Museum voor Industrïele archeologie en textiel (MIAT)
Minnemeers 9
9000  Gent
Belgique
Email: 
museum.miat@gent.be
Télephone: 
+32 92 69 42 00
Mobile: